Seed the Change 2017

Seed the Change: A Celebration of International Women’s Day

March 2019 Details Coming Soon!

About last year’s event:

The 2018 Seed the Change Gala highlighted Landesa’s recent work and accomplishments, like the first beneficiaries who received plots of land in Myanmar, and the opening of an office in Tanzania. This growth is getting us closer to our goal – helping to secure land rights for 50 million more people by 2020. In 2018 we also introduced the inaugural Roy L. Prosterman Humanitarian award, honoring visionary leaders committed to bettering our world. The first award was presented Bill Gates Sr., a global change maker and supporter of Landesa. He believes Landesa’s programs “address a root cause of global poverty – the absence of enforceable and secure rights to land. Landesa demonstrates the leveraged power of the law as a tool for social and economic progress.”

The Roy L. Prosterman Humanitarian Award was created by Landesa to recognize and highlight ground-breaking and lasting contributions to poverty alleviation. As the Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Landesa and Professor Emeritus of Law at the University of Washington, Roy is a visionary leader who has dedicated his life to poverty alleviation. This award honors Roy’s legacy by recognizing extraordinary contributions and highlighting the need for greater humanitarian aid in the world.

To learn more about 2019 sponsorship or host committee opportunities, please contact Eleanor Trenary at or (206) 257-6153.

About Landesa
Landesa champions and works to secure land rights for millions of the world’s poorest, mostly rural women and men to provide opportunity and promote social justice. We envision a world free of poverty.
We are committed to a future in which all women and men who depend on land for their livelihoods have secure, legal land rights – one of the most powerful tools for lifting oneself, one’s family and one’s community out of poverty.


A special thanks to our 2018 Board Members and Event Host Committee:

David Barclay | James Cardillo | Rangita de Silva de Alwis

Chris Grumm | Jessica Houssian | Musimbi Kanyoro

Mina Titi Liu | Vikesh Mahendroo | George Martin

Matt Nimetz | Doug Ogden | Jennifer Potter

Roy Prosterman | Peter Rabley | Sandra Taylor

Lawrence Wilkinson


Past Sponsors Include: