Who We AreGlobal Leadership

Back to Global Leadership

Jennifer Abrahamson Chief of Advocacy

Why I am passionate about Landesa’s mission:

Unrealized land rights are all too often at the root of conflict – and hinders recovery efforts once peace is established. And a lack of land security can deal a devastating blow to socio-economic development, women’s and girls’ rights, safety and health, and food security. None of these challenges can be overcome without also addressing land rights.


Jennifer has worked around the world as a spokeswoman, advocacy and policy communications specialist and campaigner in the humanitarian and international development fields for over 15 years. She has worked in more than 25 countries covering a number of complex challenges and crises in the Middle East, South Asia, the former Soviet republics, East Africa, Central Africa and southern Africa. Jennifer has previously applied her advocacy, communications and media skills to effecting change as a member of the United Nations and Oxfam families and co-led an advocacy project on women’s land rights in East Africa while serving as the director of strategic communications for the International Center for Research on Women. Jennifer most recently served as the Director of Communications for the peace and security group, Ploughshares Fund. Jennifer is also the author of a book, Sweet Relief (Simon and Schuster, 2006), about American aid worker Marla Ruzicka who was killed in the line of duty while helping civilian victims of war in Iraq.


  • MA, International Affairs, School of International & Public Affairs, Columbia University, New York
  • BA, Communication, University of California, San Diego


English, Spanish

Areas of Expertise:

  • Global Advocacy
  • Policy Advocacy and Communications
  • Media Relations
  • Food Security
  • Global Health
  • Rural Poverty
  • Post-Conflict Resolution
  • Humanitarian Response
  • Women’s and Girls’ Rights and Empowerment

International Experience:

  • Afghanistan
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Burundi
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Egypt
  • Georgia
  • India
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Pakistan
  • Palestine
  • Russia
  • Rwanda
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda
  • Zimbabwe