2002-2015 – Outstanding Global Social Entrepreneur, Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship

2014 – Ranked #14 – Top 500 Best NGOs in the World, Global Geneva

2014 – Eleanor Roosevelt Award for Human Rights, The Greater Seattle Chapter of the United Nations Association

2013 – Ranked #16 – Top 100 Best NGOs, Global Geneva

2007, 2010, 2013 – Featured Commitment, Clinton Global Initiative

2012 – Skoll Award for Social Entrepreneurship, Skoll Foundation

2012 – Ranked #34 – Top 100 Best NGOs, Global Geneva

2011 – Global Hero Award (Awarded to Landesa founder Roy Prosterman),  Global Washington

2009 – Evergreen Award, Executive Alliance

2009 – Telly Award (for film “Land is Hope), People’s Telly Awards

2008 – Development Marketplace Award, World Bank

2008 – Razoo Top 100 Nonprofits, Razoo

2008 – Finalist, United Nations Public Service Award, United Nations

2008 – World Citizen of the Year, World Affairs Council

2007 – Featured Commitment (Micro-land Ownership in India), Clinton Global Initiative, Clinton Foundation

2007 – Featured Commitment (Center for Women and Land), Clinton Global Initiative, Clinton Foundation

2007 – Finalist, Conrad N. Hilton Humanitarian Prize, Hilton Foundation

2007 – Finalist, Alcan Prize for Sustainability, International Business Leaders Forum

2006 – Henry R. Kravis Prize in Leadership, Henry R. Kravis Institute in Leadership, Claremont McKenna College

2003 – Gleitsman International Activist Award, Gleitsman Foundation

1996 – Courageous Award, Washington State Bar Association

1991-1996 – John and Marguerite Walker Corbally Professor in Public Service

1993 – International Citizen of the Year, Seattle International District Rotary

1990 – Outstanding Public Service Award, University of Washington

1973 – Ralph Bunche Award for Outstanding Contribution to World Peace through Law, Seattle-King County Bar Association


Nobel Peace Prize, Hilton Humanitarian Award, Skoll Social Entrepreneur Award, World Food Prize, Rio Tinto Alcan Prize for Sustainability, United Nations Public Service Award, Gates Award for Global Health, and the Civic Ventures Purpose Prize